Space Billing Model

TL;DR;

  • Space is billed by the number of active users in your Space organization. The number of active users is checked and applied when you upgrade from a free plan to a paid plan or make any other changes to your subscription plan.

  • When you upgrade, you pay the base subscription for the current number of active users for the entire subscription period (i.e. one year or one month).

  • You only ever pay for active users. Space automatically detects when a user becomes inactive, and refunds prorated General Credits. These credits can later be used to pay for additional users, resource overdraft charges, or a subscription upgrade.

  • You can use resources (Storage, Data Transfer, CI Credits) in excess of the limits set in your subscription plan and settle the so-called overdraft at the beginning of the following month.

  • You can add more users at any time during your subscription, and the prorated amount will be charged at the beginning of the following month as an overdraft.

When do I pay?

  • You always start using Space on the Free plan. You will not need to pay anything or provide a method of payment until you decide to upgrade to one of the paid plans.

  • You will be charged for the first time on the day when you purchase a paid plan. Space is billed by the number of active users in your Space organization, and the number of active users in your Space organization will be checked and applied at checkout.

  • When you upgrade to a new plan, you pay the base subscription for the current number of active users on the chosen paid plan for the entire subscription period (i.e. one year or one month).

  • We always co-term the subscription to the end of the month for convenience, so the first-month charge may be smaller or larger than the normal charge (see the detailed explanation of how it is calculated).

  • Your plan will automatically be renewed at the end of your subscription period.

  • You will be charged for any outstanding balance (overdraft for additional users or resources) at the beginning of the following month.

What happens if I add more users than I paid for?

You can always add more users to your Space organization during the term of your paid subscription, either manually or by letting users register with their email address or third-party credentials.

We will automatically calculate the prorated charge for a new user(s) and charge you at the beginning of the following month together with other overdraft payments. You will only pay for the time these users are active in Space. The base price for a new user is the same as the price for the users you added at the beginning of the subscription period.

  • If you pay annually, we’ll calculate a new user’s prorated cost for the rest of the year and bill you at the beginning of the next month.

  • If you pay monthly, we’ll calculate the new user’s prorated cost for the rest of the month and bill you at the beginning of the next month.

Here is an example:

Imagine that your Space organization is on the Organization plan and you pay $25 per active user per month. You’ve added a new user 15 days into a 30-day month, meaning the new user will be active for 15 days this month.

We would calculate the prorated active-user subscription cost by dividing the price per active user ($25) by the number of days in the month (30), which would result in $0.83 per day. Then we would multiply this cost by the number of days remaining (15), resulting in a prorated cost of $12.45, which would be charged to your payment method at the beginning of the next month.

 

What happens if I use more resources (CI credits, storage, data transfer) than are included in my subscription plan?

During the term of your paid subscription, you can use more resources (CI credits, storage, data transfer) than are available on your plan if you have the overdraft option enabled. The overdraft will be charged at the beginning of the following month. You can always check your current resource usage and configure the overdraft option on the Administration | Usage page in your Space organization.

The overdraft option is not available on the Free plan.

 

Who do we consider to be active/inactive users?

We would like Space billing to be as fair as possible, so we will only charge you for active users (with a fixed minimum number of active users always charged based on your subscription plan – read more in this article). In order to be counted as active, a user has to perform an “intentional action” in any of the Space clients (e.g. in the web client or mobile apps).

A wide variety of actions are considered intentional, including creating or editing content in Space, pushing to a Git repository, editing a profile, or reading chat messages.

A user who has not performed an intentional action in any period of 14 consecutive days is considered to be an inactive user.

 

How do inactive or deactivated accounts affect billing?

Space automatically detects when a user is inactive and refunds prorated General Credits. These credits can later be used to pay for additional users, resource overdraft charges, or subscription upgrades.

Here is an example of the calculation:

A customer has a monthly Space subscription on the Team plan for ten users, and paid 10*$10=$100 on November 1, 2020. On November 15, Space recognizes that one of their users has left the company (i.e. either the user has become inactive after 14 days without an intentional action or or they were manually deactivated on November 15). This means that the customer will be refunded prorated General Credits for the remaining 15 days of November on December 1.

We would calculate the prorated active-user subscription cost by dividing the price per active user ($10) by the number of days in the month (30), resulting in $0.33/day. Then we would multiply this cost by the number of days remaining (15) in the month, for a prorated amount of $4.95. This amount would be refunded to the customer account in the form of General Credits and would be immediately used towards the next month’s subscription.

The refund of prorated General Credits for inactive users is delivered at the beginning of the following month, along with any overdraft charges. If you are on a yearly subscription plan, you will receive your inactive user refund for each month individually at the beginning of the following month unless the user becomes active again or another active user replaces the inactive one.

If the inactive member becomes active again, they will be able to use Space. You will be charged a prorated active user subscription price (as explained above) from the day the user becomes active again.

Activity Status Action
An active user has not used Space for more than 14 days (see information above)
Inactive General Credits are refunded for the unused portion of the billing period (prorated)
An active user is deactivated by the administrator
Inactive General Credits are refunded for the unused portion of the billing period (prorated)
An inactive user is re-activated by the administrator
Active Space will detect the change and charge the prorated cost for the days remaining in the billing period (for both monthly and yearly plans)
An inactive user returns to Space
Active Space will detect the change and charge the prorated cost for the days remaining in the billing period (for both monthly and yearly plans)

 

Have more questions?

Submit a request